Back To Hecate's Crossroads          Back To the House Rules Index

Willpower House Rules

Willpower - General

Posted Thu May 15, 1998 by Judge Dredd

Willpower points may be temporarily spent on any die roll involving a situation you have conscious control over at the rate of 1 WP point per 'turn'. Conscious control means some situation that you can actually concentrate on to exert that extra bit of influence that WP represents. Rolls such as library research, science experiments, many driving rolls, stealth...even combat rolls such as swinging a punch or aiming a gun. Physical damage rolls are acceptible but firearms damage isn't. WP may also be spent on soak rolls. Rolls that you CAN NOT spend WP on are those you have no control over. Rolls such as Danger Sense, certain Perception rolls... Basically, if you're in a situation where you are making rolls that you have no control over a Judge is probably dealing with you and will let you know if you can or can not spend WP on it. Also, since the beginning we at DG have not allowed people to spend WP on Conscience/Callousness rolls to prevent Humanity/Path Rating loss.

There are 3 ways to recover WP. You regain WP automatically at the rate of 1 point of WP per 1 RL week that passes after you last spend it. You may also regain WP by accomplishing something pertinent to your character's Nature. The various WW books describe what sorts of things you need to do in accordance with your Nature to regain WP so consult them or ask a staffer for that info. The final method is using the Meditation secondary skill. First a meditative trance must be entered by rolling Meditation (there is no accompanying attribute) against a difficulty of 7. Success means the trance is achieved. After each full IC hour the character rolls Meditation (diff 9). Each success restores 1 WP. A botch interrupts the trance and resets the automatic recovery time to 1 RL week from that point. If the meditation is interrupted and concentration is lost before the hour is up no benefits are gained.

Back to the Willpower House Rules index

Willpower and Dominate/Presence

Posted Thu May 15, 1998 by Judge Dredd

Willpower can only be spent to resist Presence and Dominate if you are aware of the existance of the powers. If you don't have SuperKnowledge enough to know about Presence and Dominate then you can't spend WP to resist their use.

Back to the Willpower House Rules index

Rate of WP spending

Posted Sun Aug 3, 1998 by Judge Dredd

In V:tM, pg 177 (or W:tA, pg 158) it states:

"A Willpower point can be used to give you one automatic success in an action. Only one point of Willpower may be used in this way on a single turn..."

Now resisting Dominate and Presence are, of course, exceptions. You may (and in fact, must, to succeesfully resist) spend all the WP required in one turn. Dominate and Presence are outside the normal restrictions...you can spend the one success WP and then still be able to resist, and vice versa. The point here though, is to point out that you are limited to spending only 1 WP point for an automatic success in a turn. A turn is nominally defined such that "each character should be able to do ONE thing." Also, "...each player should be given the same amount of time to describe what she wants her character to do." The complication comes when you add Celerity/Rage and get to do multiple things in one 'turn'. We take the view that Celerity/Rage do NOT initiate new turns. A turn begins (in combat) with an initiative roll and ends just before the next initiative roll after EVERY action is done. Celerity/Rage actions just segment the turn into multiple rounds, the main one and then the extra Celerity/Rage ones. But they are all still wrapped around ONE scene, so you can only spend WP for a success once in that time.

Back to the Willpower House Rules index

Dice and WP

Posted Wed Sep 3. 1998 by Judge Dredd

It IS possible to roll fewer dice than you are allowed (even 0 if you want), if you choose to do so for some reason. There ARE reasons to sometimes...really. Rolling fewer dice can signify not putting as much effort as you could into the action. However, one thing you can NOT do is spend roll fewer dice AND spend WP on the roll. It just doesn't make sense to put as much conscious effort into success (that represents spending WP) and yet not fully put forth as much effort as you really could (which represents not rolling all your dice). So one or the other, but not both.

Back to the Willpower House Rules index